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Eviction from an Apartment Based on Owner Occupancy

For rent stabilized apartments and rent controlled 
apartments both inside and outside of New York 
City, only one of the individual owners of a building 
can take possession of only one dwelling unit for 
personal or immediate family use and occupancy, 
even if the building has joint or multiple ownership. 
An owner must establish an immediate and 
compelling need for the apartment for use as his 
or her primary residence or as a primary residence 
for his or her immediate family.

In NYC, an owner may refuse to renew a rent 
stabilized tenant’s lease because the owner has 
an immediate and compelling need to possess the 
apartment for use as his or her primary residence 
or as a primary residence for his or her immediate 
family. Under the Rent Stabilization Law, an owner 
may begin an eviction proceeding when the 
current lease expires, but only after the tenant 
is given written notice that the lease will not be 
renewed. This notice must be served at least 90 
and not more than 150 days before the current 
lease term expires. 

For rent stabilized apartments outside NYC 
(Emergency Tenant Protection Act or “ETPA”) and 
for rent controlled apartments both inside and 
outside NYC (or “state-wide”), the owner must 
apply to DHCR for an order granting a certificate of 
eviction by filing an “Owner’s Application for Order 
Granting Approval to Refuse Renewal of Lease 
and/or to Proceed for Eviction” (DHCR Form RA-
54). If DHCR grants this certificate, the owner may 
then proceed in court to evict the tenant. 

If an owner recovers possession of the apartment, 
the owner must use the apartment as the owner’s 
or an immediate family member’s primary 
residence for three years or the owner may lose 
the right to any rent increases for other apartments 
in that building for three years. If a tenant residing 
in a NYC rent stabilized, “ETPA,” or rent controlled 
apartment state-wide was required to surrender 
the apartment by the owner, and the owner or a 
purchaser makes a fraudulent statement regarding 
a proposed use, the tenant has the right to file 
their own lawsuit against the owner in a court of 
competent jurisdiction for damages, other relief 
and attorneys’ fees. In addition, owners who evict 
rent controlled tenants state-wide and fail to use it 
for its intended purpose within thirty days or rents 
the space within one year without demonstrating 
good cause shall also be liable for treble damages.

Additional rules apply concerning evictions based 
on owner occupancy: 

1.	 An owner cannot evict a tenant from a rent 
stabilized apartment in NYC if the tenant or 
the spouse of the tenant is 62 years of age or 
older, or has been a tenant in a dwelling unit 
in the building for 15 years or more, or is a 
disabled person unless the owner provides an 
equivalent or superior apartment at the same 
or lower rent in a nearby area.  

2.	 An owner cannot evict a tenant from a rent 
stabilized apartment outside of NYC (“ETPA”) 
or a rent controlled apartment state-wide 
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To visit a Borough Rent Office, by appointment only, please contact:
QUEENS
92-31 Union Hall Street 
6th Floor 
Jamaica, NY 11433
718-482-4041

BROOKLYN
55 Hanson Place 
6th Floor
Brooklyn, NY 11217
718-722-4778

UPPER MANHATTAN 
163 W. 125th Street 
5th Floor
New York, NY 10027
212-961-8930

LOWER MANHATTAN
25 Beaver Street 
New York, NY 10004
212-480-6238

BRONX
1 Fordham Plaza  
4th Floor
Bronx, NY 10458
718-430-0880

WESTCHESTER
75 South Broadway
3rd Floor
White Plains, NY 10601
914-948-4434

  �Rent Connect:  
rent.hcr.ny.gov

  �Ask a question: 
portal.hcr.ny.gov/app/
ask

  �For translation help: 
hcr.ny.gov/language-
accessibility

  �Our website:  
hcr.ny.gov/rent

when a member of the household lawfully 
occupying the apartment is 62 years of age 
or older, or has been a tenant in a dwelling 
unit in the building for 15 years or more, or is a 
disabled person.  

3.	 An owner of an apartment or the shares 
allocated to it cannot evict a rent stabilized, 
“ETPA” or rent controlled tenant state-wide, 
for personal or immediate family use and 
occupancy, in buildings converted to a non-
eviction cooperative.


