Lake Ontario Cropped

Lake Ontario-St. Lawrence River Flood Relief and Recovery Grant Program

Lake Ontario-St. Lawrence River Flood Relief and Recovery Grant Program


Governor Andrew M. Cuomo pledged up to $20 million to assist homeowners directly impacted by historic Lake Ontario flooding in 2019.  Homeowners residing in Cayuga, Jefferson, Monroe, Niagara, Orleans, Oswego, St. Lawrence and Wayne counties are eligible to receive up to $50,000 in state funding to help offset damages to their primary residence.

Primary homeowners in these counties who were impacted by flooding between January 1, 2019 through September 30, 2019 may apply. The application period will open on October 1, 2019 and close on October 31, 2019.

This assistance complements the Governor’s Lake Ontario Resiliency and Economic Development Initiative (REDI), which includes a multi-agency commission that has been studying ways to strengthen infrastructure along Lake Ontario's waterfront while bolstering the region's local economies.

Through REDI, the State has committed up to $300 million to rebuild the shoreline, as well as improve resiliency in flood prone regions along Lake Ontario. The State is committing up to $20 million of these funds for the 2019 Lake Ontario-St. Lawrence River Flood Relief and Recovery Program.

 Additional criteria for homeowners include:

  • Applications must address damage incurred to primary residences, which sustained direct physical flood-related damage that threatens the safety of the home.
  • Funding to address damages to secondary homes may be considered following fulfillment of primary residence applications. Further details on a new application window will be forthcoming.


Applications are due by October 31, 2019


Forms and Documents

Contact Information by County

Homeowners may direct questions, or apply for assistance through the not-for-profit organization responsible for administering the program in their region.


Cayuga, Monroe and Wayne Counties

Sheen Housing

1 Wellness Way

Post Office Box 460

Bloomfield, NY 14469

Phone: 585-657-4114


Email:  [email protected]


Niagara County

Niagara Falls Neighborhood Housing Services, Inc.

479 16th Street

Niagara Falls, NY 14303

Phone:  1-833-HomeToMe (1-833-466-3866)


Email:  [email protected]


Orleans County

The Housing Council at PathStone, Inc.

75 College Avenue, Suite 412

Rochester, NY 14607

Phone:  585-546-3700


Email:  [email protected]


Jefferson, Oswego and St. Lawrence Counties

Neighbors of Watertown, Inc.

112 Franklin Street

Watertown, NY 13601

Phone:  315-782-8497


Email:   [email protected]