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ANDREW M. CUOMO 
Governor 

RUTHANNE VISNAUSKAS  

Commissioner/CEO 
 

 

February 28, 2017    
      

Office of Housing Management Memorandum #2017 – B – 1 
 
  
To:  All Limited Profit and Limited Dividend Housing Companies Owners,   

 Managing Agents and Site Managers 
 
From:  Robert Damico, Director 
  Office of Housing Management  
 
Subject:   Occupants’ Annual Affidavit of Household Income for Calendar Year 2016 
                         Income Review Procedure 
 
Reference:   NYS Private Housing Finance Law; Official Compilation of Codes, 
   Rules and Regulations of the State of New York, 9NYCRR §1727-2 

____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
The Private Housing Finance Law requires that limited profit and limited dividend housing companies 
review tenant/cooperator income once a year and assess a rental surcharge if adjusted household income 
exceeds the maximum income limit by more than 5 percent.  The procedure to be used is outlined in 
Subpart 1727-2 of the 9NYCRR and further detailed in the attached Housing Company Instructions.   

 

 
NOTE the Following Changes 

 
 

 The Tenant/Cooperator Instructions for Completion of Affidavit of Household Income is to be 
distributed on NYS DHCR letterhead. 

 Please identify the building(s) by the building code sheet(s) enclosed.  

 Prior to reproducing copies, email a copy of your Income Affidavit Package to 
denise.snyder@nyshcr.org or submit via regular mail to NYS HCR, attention:  Denise A. C. Snyder 
— 25 Beaver Street, New York, NY 10004. 

 

Please Note the Following  
Which Must Be Implemented with This Review 

 

 The housing company may impose a $50 Non-Refundable Administrative Fee on ALL 
Tenant/Cooperators who have NOT submitted their fully completed Income Affidavit to 
management by April 30th. 
  

 Use the pre-populated Income Affidavit forms (HM-73, HM-73a and HM-73b). 
 

 DO NOT ALTER (add or delete) any FIELDS on the Income Affidavit form [HM-73] 

 
 Each Annual Income Affidavit and Instructions packet must also include a copy of the enclosed, 

one-page “Language Assistance Notice.”  BEFORE COPYING THE NOTICE, YOU MUST INSERT 
YOUR OFFICE’S TELEPHONE NUMBER IN THE SPACES PROVIDED WITHIN THE 
BRACKETED PART OF EACH LANGUAGE SECTION IN THE ENCLOSED “LANGUAGE 
ASSISTANCE NOTICE.”   
 

 The following hyper-link                                      
http://www.nyshcr.org/AboutUs/Offices/HousingOperations/ohmhmb01.htm  will enable you to 
obtain electronic copies of the Annual Income Affidavit and Instructions Packet, translated into all 
six non-English languages you see on the insert.  DO NOT CHANGE THE FORMAT OF THE 
TRANSLATED FORMS. 

 

http://www.nyshcr.org/AboutUs/Offices/HousingOperations/ohmhmb01.htm
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 Use the hyperlinks to copy and provide the appropriate translated Annual Income Affidavit and 
Instructions Packet to all eligible residents who request one. NOTE THAT, IT IS THE HOUSING 
COMPANY’S RESPONSIBILITY TO DIRECTLY PROVIDE TRANSLATED VERSIONS OF THE 
ANNUAL INCOME AFFIDAVIT AND INSTRUCTIONS PACKET TO REQUESTING TENANTS 
AND TO ENSURE THAT BOTH SIDES OF THE INCOME AFFIDAVIT (i.e. SIDE 1 AND SIDE 2) 
ARE RETURNED BY THE TENANT.   If you have any questions regarding this requirement, please 
contact Mohammed Siddiqui at (212) 480-7340. 
 

 Under Section D:  HOUSING COMPANY USE ONLY – (FOR CO-OP ONLY)   
6% of Equity Investment DOES NOT Include Accrued Amortization. 

             
We are enclosing the following materials for your use in conducting the income review:   
 

 Language Assistance Notice 

 Housing Company Instructions 

 Occupants’ Annual Affidavit of Household Income for Calendar Year 2016 [HM-73] 

 Housing Company Summary Sheet [HM-73a] (All housing companies, including federally 
assisted developments with no market rent tenants, are required to complete this form 
and submit it to the Division by Thursday, September 14, 2017.) 

 Surcharge Information Tabulation Sheet [HM-73b] 

 Tenant/Cooperator Instructions 

 Worksheet for Determination of Surcharge — Rental 

 or 

Worksheet for Determination of Surcharge — Cooperative 

(Select the appropriate worksheet for your development and include it as page 5 
of the Tenant/Cooperator Instructions.) 

 NYS DHCR Frequently Asked Questions Re: Income Affidavits 
 
The following Tenants/Cooperators are NOT subject to this income review: 
 

 households with initial lease/occupancy agreements commencing on or after April 1, 2017 
 

 families receiving any form of subsidy requiring federal income recertification (i.e., Section 236, 
Rent Supplement, RAD, RAP, or Section 8 programs) or Tax Credits; however, families paying 
market rent in Section 236, Section 8 and Tax Credit developments are subject to this annual 
income review; 

 

 families receiving assistance under the NYS Capital Grant Program; and 
 

 Resident Employees. 
 

All information contained in the income affidavit is confidential.  Appropriate storage and access 
measures must be taken to safeguard privacy.  Housing company personnel should be advised that this 
information may be disclosed only to authorized persons or agencies. 
 

Please make ONE submission of the following documents to this office by Thursday, September 

14, 2017: 
 

 one completed Housing Company Summary Sheet [HM-73a];  
 

 one completed set of Surcharge Information Tabulation Sheets [HM-73b]. and 
 

 the original copy of each completed Occupants’ Annual Affidavit of Household Income [HM-73]       
prepared on white legal sized paper and arranged by building, floor and apartment number 

 
 
Should you have questions on the income review procedure, or need the appropriate building codes, please 
call Denise A. C. Snyder at (212) 480-7241 — email at denise.snyder@nyshcr.org. 
 

 
 
 

 
 

                                                                 
                                 Robert Damico

mailto:denise.snyder@nyshcr.org
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HOUSING COMPANY INSTRUCTIONS 
 

 

Timetable for Income Review Procedure 

 
 
March 
 
 
 
 
 
 
April 

 
Reproduce income affidavit and tenant/cooperator instructions and 
distribute by April 1, 2017. 
 
Prior to reproducing copies, email a copy of your Income Affidavit 
Package to denise.snyder@nyshcr.org or submit via regular mail to 
NYS HCR, attention:  Denise A. C. Snyder — 25 Beaver Street, 
New York, NY 10004. 
 
Tenants/Cooperators MUST complete and return income affidavits 
to housing company by April 30, 2017. 

 
May 

 
Review income affidavits, complete Section D, and prepare 
Surcharge Information Tabulation Sheets. 
                 
Send follow-up letters to tenants who have not returned a 
completed income affidavit or required documentation. 

 
 

 
Notify tenants of surcharges resulting from this income review by 
May 31, 2017. 

 
June 

 
Assess surcharges effective July 1, 2017. 

 
July —
August 

 
Complete Surcharge Tabulation Sheets, prepare Housing 
Company Summary Sheet, and submit with income affidavits to the 
Division by Thursday, September 14, 2017. 
 
  

 

Steps to Be Taken by Managing Agent/Housing Company 
 Prior to Distribution of Income Affidavits  

 
1. Language Assistance Notice — Before copying the notice, you MUST insert your 

office’s telephone number in the spaces provided within the bracketed part of each 
language section in the enclosed “LANGUAGE ASSISTANCE NOTICE.”   
 

2. Reproduce Occupants' Annual Affidavit of Household Income [HM-73] –                         
Use the supplied pre-populated form enclosed. 

 
Print both sides of form HM-73 on legal sized paper, allowing for three copies per 
household.  The reverse side of the form must contain the NYS DHCR Privacy Notice 
statement required by Section 94(1) (d) of the New York Public Officers Law.  The 
copy submitted to the Division must be on legal sized white paper. 
 

3. Reproduce Tenant/Cooperator Instructions for Completion of Affidavit of 
Household Income and the Worksheet for Determination of Surcharge (page 5) for 
your development, either Rental or Cooperative allowing for one copy per household 

plus 10% reserve stock. 
 

 

 
             

Mail or Distribute to Tenants/Cooperators Subject to this Review (in 
this order): 

 

 One (1) Copy of Language Assistance Notice 
 

 One (1) Copy of Tenant/Cooperator Instructions 
 

 Three (3) Copies of Income Affidavit [HM-73],  
 

 One (1) Copy of Worksheet for Determination of Surcharge 
 

 One (1) Copy of Frequently Asked Questions Re: Income Affidavits 
 

 

 

  

mailto:denise.snyder@nyshcr.org
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Steps to Be Taken by Managing Agent/Housing Company  
After Distribution of Income Affidavits to Tenants 

 
 INITIAL PREPARATION OF SURCHARGE INFORMATION TABULATION SHEETS 
         
1. Use the pre-populated Surcharge Information Tabulation Sheet [HM-73b] supplied. 
         
2. Reproduce sufficient copies of the tabulation sheet to permit entry of the following 

information:   
 

a. For non-federally assisted developments — List each apartment sequentially 

(by floor, then apartment number) and enter leaseholder’s name (Last Name, First 
Name) or “Vacant”, if applicable.   Use the “Remarks” column to identify residential 
tenants who are not subject to the income review, and indicate why (for example: 
Resident Employee, Capital Grant, SCRIE, Section 8, Tax Credits etc.).  

 

b. For federally assisted developments — List ONLY those apartments whose 
occupants pay Market Rent. 

 
 

Income Affidavit Review and Entry by Management 
On Surcharge Information Tabulation Sheets 

 
1. Review each income affidavit, and accompanying documentation, if required, to make 

sure it is legible, complete and notarized. 
 
2. All occupants18 years of age or older must sign deposition in Section C. 
           
3. Make certain that New York State Tax Return Information is provided for all occupants.  

If a joint return was filed, make sure that the “Joint Return” column is checked for 
both filers and that the wages of a Secondary Wage Earner are listed separately so 
the appropriate deduction can be taken. 

 
4. Complete all calculations in Section D. 
        

Maximum Income Limit — See page 4 of these instructions.  Use the applicable ratio, 
based on the number of persons in the household: 
 
   7 X — for families of three persons or less 
   8 X — for families of four persons or more 

 
Secondary Wage Earner Deduction — A deduction of $20,000, or the exact amount of 
earnings if less, is allowed for each secondary wage earner including minors under the 
age of 21. 

 
A secondary wage earner is any gainfully employed member of the household other than 
the head of household.  The head of household is defined as the person who is legally or 
morally responsible for dependents in the household, whose income is generally from 
employment or self-employment and usually exceeds income of any other member of the 
household.  It is not necessary for the head of household to be gainfully employed for 
another household member to qualify as a secondary wage earner. 

 
         If the Net Income exceeds the Maximum Allowable Income by more than 5%, a 

surcharge should be added to the rent — see surcharge schedule on page 5. 
           
5. Transfer all necessary information from the income affidavit to the Surcharge Information 

Tabulation Sheet [HM-73b].  Complete all columns. 
           
6. Provide written notification to tenants as follows: 

      

 Tenants whose adjusted household income exceeds 105% of the maximum 
allowable income must be notified by May 31st of the surcharge to be added to their 
rent effective July 1, 2017.  
       

 Tenants who fail to provide the required information must be notified by May 31st 
of the 50% maximum surcharge to be added to their rent effective July 1, 2017.  
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Documentation Requirements  

       
 
Income reported by occupants who provide social security numbers will be referred to the 
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance for verification, and that agency’s 
findings will be forwarded to the housing company.  This direct verification process 
eliminates documentation requirements for most occupants who file New York State 
income tax returns; however, documentation is required in the following instances: 
 
1. If Medical and Dental Expenses (line B4) or Taxable Social Security Benefits (line 

B5) are claimed, they must be substantiated by a filed NYS tax form.   
 
2. If the total number of Dependent Exemptions and Personal Exemptions (entered 

on line B3) is greater than the number of household members, the dependent 
exemptions must be substantiated by a filed NYS tax form. 

 

3. If an occupant 18 years of age or older does not provide a social security number 
or did not file a NYS return, income verification is required as follows:  

 

 If an income tax return was filed, a copy of either the NYS or federal 
return must accompany the affidavit and a NYS Tax and Finance issued 
transcript must be submitted to the management office by July 31, 2017. 

 

 If an income tax extension request was filed, a copy of either the NYS 
or federal extension request must accompany the affidavit.  A certified 
copy of the NYS or federal return must be submitted to the 
management office by November 30, 2017. 

 

 If no income tax return or extension request was filed, written verification 
of income must accompany the affidavit.  Refer to 9NYCRR Section 
1727-2.3(a) for appropriate verification methods. 

 
 
 

 
 
 

  Note: Income affidavits and supporting documents MUST be 
retained in each individual Tenant/Cooperator file for audit 
purposes.   
 

DO NOT submit the additional documents to NYS 
DHCR.   
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Submission of Income Affidavits to DHCR 

 
 

Make ONE submission of the following materials to this office by Thursday, September 14, 
2017 in the following order: 

 

 one completed Housing Company Summary Sheet [HM-73a];  
 

 one set of the completed Surcharge Information Tabulation Sheets [HM-73b];  
 

 one original copy of each Occupant’s Annual Affidavit of Household Income [HM-73]     
prepared on white paper and arranged by building, floor and apartment number.  

 
 

Please DO NOT INCLUDE the following in your submission:   

 

 Supporting Documents — Attach all supporting documents to the Income 
Affidavit copy retained by housing company in the Tenant/Cooperator file. 
 

 Duplicate Affidavits —  If corrected or Interim Affidavit has been received  by the 
housing company prior to September 14th, only submit the most recent affidavit for the 
household and retain all other versions for the tenant/cooperator file 
 

 Income Affidavits for Previous Years — Income reported on late Tenant/Cooperator 

Income Affidavit submissions are to be confirmed by the housing company. 
 

Forward to:   
NYS Division of Housing and Community Renewal 
Office of Housing Management  
Attn:  Administration Unit — Room 633 
25 Beaver Street  
New York, New York 10004 
 

 

 

Rent or Carrying Charge Increase 

 
In the event of a Commissioner's Order affecting rents/carrying charges, at least 30 days prior to 
the increase, an interim recalculation of surcharges must be done for tenants with surcharges.  
The housing company shall submit to DHCR, within 30 days of the rent/carrying charge increase, 
an updated Surcharge Information Tabulation Sheet listing the adjusted surcharges. 

 
 

 

Interim Changes in Rent 

 
Income should be reexamined, and interim changes in rent to reduce or remove surcharges 
should be made, if required, only in the following circumstances: 
 

 tenant or household member is placed upon public assistance; 
 

 a full-time employed household member permanently leaves the apartment; 
 

 death or retirement of a household member who had income; or 
 

 unemployment of a household member which has been continuous for at least 

three months. 
 

                                                                                                                         [§1727-2.5(b)] 
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Calculation of Maximum Income Limits 

 
 RENTALS 
 
Multiply the annual rent, including utilities, by 7 for households of one to three persons, or by 8 

for households of four or more persons. 
 
 COOPERATIVES 
 

Add the following amounts: 
 
1. Annual carrying charge, including utilities 

2. 6% of equity investment (NOT TO INCLUDE ACCRUED AMORTIZATION) 

3. $120 multiplied by the number of rental rooms (Cost of Redecoration and Replacement of 
fixtures and appliances) 

 
Multiply the total including utilities, by 7 for households of one to three persons, or by 8 for 

households of four or more persons.
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SAMPLE SURCHARGE CALCULATION 
for a Cooperative with a Carrying Charge of $285, 

Equity of $5,000, and 5 Rental Rooms 
 

Assume that the apartment is occupied by a Household of three; that the total gross income is $40,000 
($36,000 for the head of household and $4,000 for the spouse from wages); and that the married couple 
filed a joint return claiming one exemption for the child and the standard deduction. 

 
 
MAXIMUM INCOME LIMIT CALCULATION 
 
Carrying Charge of $285 X 12 $3,420 
Equity of $5,000 X 6%   300 
5 Rental Rooms X $120  600 
Subtotal  4,320 

 
 NET INCOME CALCULATION 
 
 Total Gross Income $40,000 
  Less Deductions (Line B6)            3,000 
 Total Adjusted Income $37,000 
  

 
Multiply by 7 (1-3 persons)  X  7 
                

 
 Less Secondary Wage Earner   4,000 
 Deduction               

 
MAXIMUM INCOME LIMIT  $30,240 

 
 NET INCOME $33,000 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 NET INCOME / MAXIMUM INCOME LIMIT = % OF MAXIMUM INCOME LIMIT 
 
In this example, the tenant's net income of $33,000, divided by the maximum income limit of $30,240, 
equals 109%.  Referring to the surcharge schedule below, the tenant must pay a monthly surcharge of 5% 
of the monthly carrying charge. 

 
 

 
SURCHARGE SCHEDULE 

 
Income 

(In % of Maximum Income Limit) 
 

 
Surcharge  
(In % of Rent/ 

Carrying Charge)  
greater than 

up to and 
including 

 
100% 

 
105% 

 
None 

 
105% 

 
110% 

 
 5% 

 
110% 

 
115% 

 
10% 

 
115% 

 
120% 

 
15% 

 
120% 

 
125% 

 
20% 

 
125% 

 
130% 

 
25% 

 
130% 

 
135% 

 
30% 

 
135% 

 
140% 

 
35% 

 
140% 

 
145% 

 
40% 

 
145% 

 
150% 

 
45% 

 
150% 

 

 
—  

 
50% 
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LANGUAGE ASSISTANCE NOTICE 
 

ENGLISH 
You may request a translated version of this form by calling 

[__________]. 
 

 

 

中国 - 简体中文 (CHINESE - SIMPLIFIED) 

您可以要求通过调用这种形式的翻译版本[__________] 
 

 

 

中國 - 傳統 (CHINESE - TRADITIONAL) 

您可以要求通過調用這種形式的翻譯版本[__________] 
 

 

 

An kreyòl ayisyen (HAITIAN CREOLE) 
Ou kapab mande pou yon vèsyon tradui fòm sa a lè w rele                           

[__________] 
 

 

 

Italiano (ITALIAN) 
È possibile richiedere una versione tradotta di questo form 

chiamando [__________] 
 

 

 

한국의 (KOREAN) 

당신은 호출하여이 양식의 번역 된 버전을 요청할 수 

있습니다[__________] 
 

 

 

Русский (RUSSIAN) 
Вы можете запросить переведенную версию этой формы по 

телефону [__________] 
 

 

 

Español (SPANISH) 
Usted puede solicitar una versión traducida de este 

formulario llamando [__________] 
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Development Name: DHCR Number: OCCUPANTS’ ANNUAL AFFIDAVIT OF HOUSEHOLD INCOME FOR 
CALENDAR YEAR 2016 

Complete Affidavit and return by April 30, 2016 to: 

Last Name – Head of Household: Address: Bldg.#: Apt.#: Daytime Telephone: 
(       ) 

SECTION A: HOUSEHOLD INFORMATION – List all members of household currently residing in apartment regardless of earning status. For each household member, enter income as shown on NY State Tax form IT-201 or IT-203 
line 19, and complete all columns. NOTE: IF YOU FILED A JOINT RETURN AND HAVE MORE THAN ONE WAGE EARNER, LIST EACH PERSON’S INCOME SEPARATELY SO THAT THE SECONDARY WAGE EARNER’S 
DEDUCTION CAN BE CALCULATED. If a 2016 NY State tax return was not filed, enter total amount of income received. Print or type all information, except signatures. FOR ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE, PLEASE REFER TO 
“TENANT/COOPERATOR INSTRUCTIONS” OR CALL YOUR MANAGEMENT OFFICE. 

SECTION D: HOUSING COMPANY USE ONLY 

MONTHLY RENT/CC $__________  

Current Household Members 
 
(Last Name, First Name) 

Relationship 
Age  
(as of 

12/31/2016) 

Social Security 
Number 

Employed 
Yes or No 

Gross Income 

Type of NYS Tax Return Filed 
(Complete for each Resident) 

ANNUAL RENT/CC $ 

(FOR CO-OP ONLY) EQUITY of 
$_____________x 6%  (NOT TO INCLUDE 

ACCRUED AMORTIZATION) 
$ 

Joint Individual None 
(FOR CO-OP ONLY) NUMBER OF 
RENTAL ROOMS ________ x $120 

$ 

A1. Head of Household 
   

$ 
   

TOTAL $ 

A2. 
        

ENTER APPLICABLE RATIO (7X or 8X) _________ 

A3.         
MAXIMUM INCOME LIMIT $ 

A4. 
        ADJUSTED HOUSEHOLD INCOME 

(Line A7 minus Line B6) 
$ 

A5. 
        SECONDARY WAGE EARNER(S) 

DEDUCTION (for each, $20,000 or total 
wages if less) 

$ 

A6. 
        

NET INCOME $ 

Section B: DEDUCTIONS 
 

B1. DEPENDENT EXEMPTIONS (As reported on IT-201 line 
36 or IT-203 line 35) 

 

 

$______,000 

A7. TOTAL: Add all lines in GROSS INCOME column $ 

 
AMOUNT OVER INCOME $ 

B2. Allowances for PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS (Number of 
persons who filed a 2016 NYS tax return and were not 
claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer x $1,000) 

$______,000 
SECTION C: DEPOSITION                                 All Occupants 18 Years of Age or older MUST Sign Deposition. 
 

State of New York               )    SS: The Undersigned, being duly sworn, deposes and says: 
County of                             ) 
 

1. That (s)he hereby certifies that (s)he has read said statement of income and Household composition and knows the 
contents thereof: that the said statement is true to the personal knowledge of deponent. 

2. That (s)he understands that: 

 willful misrepresentation may be cause for termination of the occupancy agreement and/or civil or criminal penalties; 

 Social Security numbers are sought for use in verifying income information on this form pursuant to Section 60 of the Private 
Housing Finance Law; pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974, disclosure of Social Security numbers is voluntary; 

 income information shown on this affidavit is subject to verification by the NYS Department of Taxation and Finance in 
accordance with the provisions of Section 171-b of the Tax Law; and 

 tenants are required to advise the housing company in writing within 90 calendar days of any additions or deletions to the 
household composition shown in section A above. 
 

Signature of Head of Household  ____________________________________ State of New York, County of __________________ 
 
Signature (other occupant) _________________________________________ Sworn to before me this ____ day of ________ 20__ 
 
Signature (other occupant) _________________________________________ Notary Public _______________________________ 
  

Signature (other occupant) _________________________________________                                              Notary Seal/Stamp here →                                                               

PERCENTAGE OVER INCOME % 

B3. SUBTOTAL (Add lines B1 and B2) $______,000 
PERCENTAGE OF SURCHARGE 

(per surcharge schedule) 
% 

B4. MEDICAL AND DENTAL EXPENSES (Only if itemized 
deduction is taken – as reported on IT-201D or IT203D, 
Resident Itemized Deduction Schedule line 1) 

 
MONTHLY SURCHARGE 

to be billed 
$ 

B5. TAXABLE SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS (As reported 
on IT-201 or IT-203 line 15 or total Social Security Benefits if 
2016 NYS tax return was not filed.) 

 Reviewed By: 

B6. TOTAL DEDUCTIONS (Add lines B3, B4, and B5)  
Date Reviewed: 
 

Note: You must attach copies of all 2016 NYS tax returns filed by 
members of your household if: 
 

 a Social Security number is not provided for each household 
member, 

 the number entered on Line B3 is greater than the number of 
persons listed in Section A, or 

 an amount is entered on Line B4 and/or B5. 

 

Notary Seal/Stamp: 

HM-73 (2/2017)                                                                              HOUSING COMPANY PERSONNEL HAVE BEEN INSTRUCTED THAT THE INFORMATION HEREIN IS PRIVILEGED AND CONFIDENTIAL                                                   Over →                                                               
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STATE OF NEW YORK 
 
 

PRIVACY NOTICE 

SECTION OF 94(1)(d) OF THE NEW YORK PUBLIC 
OFFICERS LAW REQUIRES THIS NOTICE TO BE 
PROVIDED WHEN COLLECTING PERSONAL 
INFORMATION FROM INDIVIDUALS 

AGENCY NAME 
 
 

NYS DIVISION OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY RENEWAL 

BUREAU/UNIT 
 
 

Office of Housing Management 

TITLE OF OFFICIAL RESPONSIBLE FOR MAINTENANCE OF THE INFORMATION 
 
 

Director 

 

BUSINESS ADDRESS OF OFFICIAL 
 
 

25 Beaver Street, New York, NY 10004 
 

TELEPHONE NUMBER 
 
 

(212) 480 - 7241 

AUTHORITY WHICH PERMITS THE MAINTENANCE OF INFORMATION 
 
 

Private Housing Finance Law and Section 1727 of Title 9 of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and 
Regulations of the State of New York 

 

THE CONSEQUENCES, IF ANY, OF NOT PROVIDING ALL OR ANY PART OF THE REQUESTED INFORMATION 
 
 

Maximum Rental Surcharge  and/or Denial of Succession Applications 

 

THE PRINCIPAL PURPOSE(S) WITHIN THE AGENCY FOR WHICH THE INFORMATION IS TO BE USED 
 
 

Determining Right to Continued Occupancy, Verification of Income for Purposes of Continued Occupancy and 
Establishing Rent, and Determination of Eligibility for Succession 
(Current household members must be listed on affidavit to be eligible for succession rights.) 

 

KNOWN OR FORESEEABLE TRANSFERS OF THE INFORMATION 
 
 

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance, New York City Department of Housing Preservation and Development 
and Mitchell-Lama Housing Companies where transfer of such information is necessary to DHCR’s statutory duties 

 

EACH INDIVIDUAL HAS THE RIGHT TO REVIEW PERSONAL INFORMATION MAINTAINED BY THE AGENCY, UNLESS 
EXEMPTED BY LAW. 

  

       

New York State 
                                                                                                                     Division of Housing and Community Renewal 

                                                                                                                                     Office of Housing Operations  
                                                                                                                            Website: www.nyshcr.org 
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HOUSING COMPANY SUMMARY SHEET 
 

INCOME AFFIDAVIT SUBMISSIONS — CALENDAR YEAR 2016 
 

 
 
Development Name:____________________________________________                                                                                                                                                 
 
DHCR Number:_________________________                                                   

                                                                                

                                                                               DHCR USE ONLY:  Date Received: ______________________      Number of Affidavits:  

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS:  This form provides information on income affidavit submissions for all of the 
buildings and every apartment in the development. Complete it using information from the Surcharge 
Information Tabulation Sheets.  Only one summary sheet should be submitted for each housing 
company. 

 

[Do Not write in shaded areas.] 
  

1 Affidavits Filed  —  Not subject to Surcharge  

 

2 Affidavits Filed  —  Subject to Surcharge  

3 TOTAL INCOME AFFIDAVITS FILED (add lines 1 and 2) 

 

 

4 FAILED TO FILE and INCOMPLETE AFFIDAVITS  

5a Tenants Subject to Federal Income Recertification  

 

5b NYC (only) DRIE and SCRIE Recipients  

5c Tax Credit Apartments  

5d Capital Grant Tenants  

5e Professional Apartments  

5f Resident Employee Apartments  

5g New Move-Ins on or After April 1, 2017  

5h Vacant Apartments on or After April 1, 2017  

6 
 
TOTAL EXEMPT FROM FILING (add lines 5a through 5h) 

 

 

7 
 
TOTAL APTS. IN DEVELOPMENT (add lines 3, 4 and 6)  

8 
TOTAL ANNUAL SURCHARGES 
(from Surcharge Information Tabulation Sheet) 

$ 

Completed by: _____________________________________________Date: ___________________ 
 
 
Title: ___________________________________________Telephone: (_______)________________ 
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New York State 
Division of Housing and Community Renewal 
Office of Housing Operations 
Website: www.nyshcr.org 

Surcharge Information Tabulation Sheet                   Page _______ of _______ 

 
 
 
List by Floor and Apartment 
 

DHCR Number: _____________       Name of Development: __________________________________________________________    Calendar Year of Income 20_____ 

Building Number: ____________      Address: ______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Apartment 
Number 

Tenant/Cooperator  
(Last Name, First Name) 

Number 
Rooms 

Number 
Occupants 

Age, Head of 
Hshld. 

Monthly 
Rent/CC 

Maximum 
Allowable Income 

Net 
Income 

Percent of 
Surcharge 

Monthly Surcharge 
(Dollars) 

Annual Surcharge 
(Dollars) 

Remarks 

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

        Totals:    
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ANDREW M. CUOMO 
Governor 

RUTHANNE VISNAUSKAS  
Commissioner/CEO 

 
        March 2017 
 

  

Tenant/Cooperator Instructions for Completion of 
Affidavit of Household Income — Calendar Year 2016 

 

 
Under the New York State Private Housing Finance Law, this development has been given a 
subsidy that makes it possible for tenants/cooperators, whose incomes are within the maximum 
income limits set by law, to pay below market rents/carrying charges.  The law requires that we 
examine your income once each year to determine eligibility for continued occupancy.  If your 
adjusted household income exceeds the maximum income limit by more than 5 percent, a 
surcharge will be added to your rent. 
 

The assessment of a surcharge, if any, will be effective July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018 in 
accordance with the Surcharge Schedule on page 4 of these instructions.  If you wish to calculate 
your surcharge, a Worksheet for Determination of Surcharge is provided on page 5. 

 

Please cooperate in the review process by providing information no later than April 30, 2017.  The 
failure, neglect or refusal of a tenant/cooperator to furnish information concerning his income or 
that of any member of the household, or to cooperate in the verifying of such reported income, will 
be assumed to indicate excess income.  In such cases, rent will be raised to maximum in surcharge 
schedule; however, upon submission of an affidavit of income and/or proper documentation, 
surcharges, if any, will be assessed on the basis of verified income, with the effective date of any 
rent change to be the first of the month following the month in which the affidavit of income and/or 
proper documentation had been filed with the housing company.  In no event will credit be given 
for excess surcharges already assessed as a result of failure, neglect or refusal of the 
tenant/cooperator to cooperate in income determination as set forth in §1727-2.6(a) of the New 
York Codes, Rules and Regulations. 
 

 
A $50 Non-Refundable Administrative Fee may be imposed on Tenant/Cooperators who 
have NOT submitted their Fully Completed Income Affidavit to management by April 30th.  

 

 

If you have questions, or need assistance in completing the attached form, please call the 
management office at your development. 
 

 

 
Income Information shown on the Occupants' Annual Affidavit of Household Income is 
subject to verification by the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance in 
accordance with provisions of Section 171-b of the Tax Law. 

 
Upon proper verification of income, if it is determined that the tenant or cooperator, or 
any household member, willfully misrepresented any information, then the housing 
company shall calculate surcharges in accordance with the surcharge schedule and 
assess such surcharge, as rent, each month, retroactive to the initial month in which 
the surcharge should have been paid.  A housing company shall charge such tenant or 
cooperator a fee of $150 in payment for the expenditure of housing company time and 
labor incurred to determine the true income of the tenant or cooperator.          

    
                                                                                                                                                [§1727-2.6(b)] 

In no case shall the housing company waive the provisions of subdivisions (a) 
through (c) of this section.   

                                                                                                                                        [§1727-2.6(d)]  
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 READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY 
 

Please type or print clearly using blue or black ink only.  Complete three (3) 
copies of the attached income affidavit and return two (2) notarized copies 
to the managing agent/housing company by April 30, 2017.  Retain the third 
notarized copy for your records. 

                                        

 
 

1. HEADING: Fill in the Last Name of head of household, address, building number, 
apartment number, and day-time telephone number. 

 
2. SECTION A:  HOUSEHOLD INFORMATION 

 
 
 
Important Note for Married Occupants Who Filed a Joint NYS Income Tax 
Return: 
 

 The “Joint Return” column must be checked for both joint filers. 
 

 The sum of the gross income reported for each joint filer must equal the 
amount reported on line 19 of form IT-201, or line 19 of form IT-203. 

 

 If a joint filer is not listed on line A1 as “Head of Household” and is gainfully 
employed, his/her wages should be listed separately so the secondary 
wage earner’s deduction can be calculated. 

 

 

A1 through A6 — 
 

Enter the name (last name, first name), relationship, age, and social security number 
of each person presently residing in the apartment, and indicate whether he/she is 
employed.  For each person listed, check the type of New York State income tax return 
filed (“Joint” or “Individual”) or “None.” 

 
In the column labeled "Gross Income" enter the amount shown on line 19 on NYS tax 
form IT-201, or line 19 on form IT-203.  If an extension of time to submit a NYS return 
was requested, check “No Return Filed” and enter occupant’s estimated income.  If no 
NYS return was filed, enter total income received during the previous calendar year 
from all sources.  If occupant had no income enter “0". 

 
A7 — Enter the total gross income of all household members. 

 
3. SECTION B:  DEDUCTIONS 
 

B1   Enter the number of "Dependent Exemptions" taken by all occupants who 
filed NYS income tax returns.  Dependent Exemptions are reported on line 36 
of form IT-201, and line 35 of form IT-203.    

                                   
B2   Enter the number of occupants who have filed a NYS return and were not 

claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer. 
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B3   Enter the total of lines B1 and B2. 

 
B4   Enter amount of "Medical and Dental Expenses" only if the itemized deduction 

is taken on the NYS Return — as reported on form IT-201 or IT-203, page 2, 
NYS Itemized Deduction Worksheet, line a. 

 
B5   Enter amount of "Taxable Social Security Benefits" reported on line 15 of form 

IT-201 or IT-203; if a NYS return was not filed, enter total amount of Social 
Security benefits. 

 
B6   Add lines B3, B4, and B5. 

 
 
4. SECTION C:  DEPOSITION — Each occupant 18 years of age or older must sign the 

affidavit in the presence of a Notary Public. 
 

 5. By April 30, 2017, return the original and one (1) copy of the completed income affidavit 

to the address stated in the upper right hand corner of the affidavit.  Retain a notarized 

copy of the affidavit for your file.  DO NOT mail the affidavit to New York State 
Division of Housing and Community Renewal.  

 

 

 

 
 

Supporting Documentation 
 

 
Supporting documentation must be submitted with your income affidavit in the following 
instances: 

 
1. If Medical and Dental Expenses (line B4) or Taxable Social Security Benefits (line B5) 

are claimed, they must be substantiated by a copy of a filed NYS tax form.   
 
2. If the total number of Dependent Exemptions and Personal Exemptions (entered on line 

B3) is greater than the number of household members, the dependent exemptions must 
be substantiated by a copy of a filed NYS tax form. 

 
3. If an occupant 18 years of age or older does not provide a social security number or did 

not file a NYS tax return, income verification is required as follows:  
 

 If an income tax return was filed, a copy of either the NYS or federal return 
must accompany the affidavit, and a certified copy must be submitted to the 
management office by July 31, 2017. 

 

 If an income tax extension request was filed, a copy of either the NYS or 
federal extension request must accompany the affidavit and a certified copy 
of the income tax return must be submitted to the management office by 
November 30, 2017. 

 

 If no income tax return or extension request was filed, written verification 
of income must accompany the affidavit. 

 
If you have a question concerning documentation requirements, please contact your 
management office. 
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Interim Changes to Reduce or Remove Surcharges 
 

 
 

You are entitled to an income reexamination to reduce or remove surcharges, if required, 
should any of the following circumstances occur: 

 

 tenant or household member is placed upon public assistance; 
 

 a full-time employed household member permanently leaves the apartment; 
 

 death or retirement of a household member who had income; or 
 

 unemployment of a household member which has been continuous for at least three 
months. 

 

        [§1727-2.5(b)] 

 
 

 
The housing company must also be notified in writing, within 90 calendar days, of any 
additions to or deletions from the tenant's household who reside in the apartment, or 
persons who for a period of 30 days or more occupy the apartment, and such changes 
should be reflected on subsequent affidavits of income. 
 
                     [§1727-3.5] 
  
 
 
 

 

SURCHARGE SCHEDULE 

 
If Net Income / Maximum Income is: 

 

 
Surcharge (In Percent 

of Rent or Carrying 
Charge for  Apartment) 

will be: 

 
greater than 

 
but not in excess of 

 
100% 

 
105% 

 
None 

 
105% 

 
110% 

 
 5% 

 
110% 

 
115% 

 
10% 

 
115% 

 
120% 

 
15% 

 
120% 

 
125% 

 
20% 

 
125% 

 
130% 

 
25% 

 
130% 

 
135% 

 
30% 

 
135% 

 
140% 

 
35% 

 
140% 

 
145% 

 
40% 

 
145% 

 
150% 

 
45% 

 
150% 

 
— 

 
50% 

 

  
                     [§1727-4.1(d)] 
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WORKSHEET FOR DETERMINATION OF SURCHARGE 
 

— RENTAL — 
 

 
A. ANNUAL RENT 

The base rent including gas and electricity, less surcharges 
and any charges for appliances, parking etc., multiplied by 
12. 

 
$ 

 
 

 
B. MAXIMUM INCOME LIMIT  

If household consists of less than 4 persons, multiply line A 
by 7.  If household consists of 4 or more persons, multiply 

line A by 8. 

 
 
 

 
$ 

 
C. HOUSEHOLD INCOME   

Amount from line A7 of income affidavit. 

 
$ 

 
D. DEPENDENT EXEMPTIONS  

Amount from line B1 of income affidavit. 

 
$    ,000 

 
 

 
E. ALLOWANCE FOR PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS 

Amount from line B2 of income affidavit. 

 
$    ,000 

 
F. MEDICAL AND DENTAL EXPENSES  

Amount from line B4 of income affidavit. 

 
$ 

 
G. TAXABLE SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS  

Amount from line B5 of income affidavit. 

 
$ 

 
H. SECONDARY WAGE EARNER DEDUCTION *   

A $20,000 deduction, or the exact amount of earnings if less, 
is allowed for each secondary wage earner.  Enter the total 
household deduction here. 

 
$ 

 
I. TOTAL DEDUCTIONS  

Add lines D, E, F, G, and H. 

 
 

 
$ 

 
J. NET HOUSEHOLD INCOME  

Line C minus line I. 

 
$ 

 
If line J does not exceed line B, you are not subject to surcharge.  If it does, divide line J by line B and refer 
to the Surcharge Schedule on page 4 to find the corresponding surcharge percent. 

 
 
     * Secondary Wage Earner — Any gainfully employed member of the household, including minors 

under the age of 21, other than the head of household.  The head of household is defined as the 
person who is legally or morally responsible for dependents in the household, whose income is 
generally from employment or self-employment and usually exceeds income of any other 
household member.  It is not necessary for the head of household to be gainfully employed for 
another household member to qualify as a secondary wage earner. 
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If line M does not exceed line E, you are not subject to surcharge.  If it does, divide line M by line E and refer 
to the Surcharge Schedule on page 4 to find the corresponding surcharge percent. 
    
  * Secondary Wage Earner — Any gainfully employed member of the household, including minors 

under the age of 21, other than the head of household.  The head of household is defined as the 
person who is legally or morally responsible for dependents in the household, whose income is 
generally from employment or self-employment and usually exceeds income of any other 
household member.  It is not necessary for the head of household to be gainfully employed for 
another household member to qualify as a secondary wage earner. 

 

   

 

 

WORKSHEET FOR DETERMINATION OF SURCHARGE 
 

— COOPERATIVE — 
 

 
A. ANNUAL CARRYING CHARGE  

The base carrying charge including gas and electricity, less 
surcharges and any charges for appliances, parking etc. 
multiplied by 12. 

 
$ 

 
 

 
B. CURRENT EQUITY INVESTMENT  $               X 6% 

6% of Equity Investment DOES NOT Include Accrued 
Amortization 

 
$ 

 
C. REDECORATION AND REPLACEMENT  

Number of rental rooms in your apartment X $120. 

 
$ 

 
D. TOTAL of lines A, B, and C. 

 
 

 
$ 

 
E. MAXIMUM INCOME LIMIT 

If household consists of less than 4 persons, multiply line D 
by 7.  If household consists of 4 or more persons, multiply 
line D by 8. 

 
$ 

 
F. HOUSEHOLD INCOME   

Amount from line A7 of income affidavit. 

 
$                   

 
G. DEPENDENT EXEMPTIONS  

Amount from line B1 of income affidavit. 

 
$     ,000 

 
 

 
H. ALLOWANCE FOR PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS  

Amount from line B2 of income affidavit. 

 
$     ,000 

 
I. MEDICAL AND DENTAL EXPENSES  

Amount from line B4 of income affidavit. 

 
$ 

 
J. TAXABLE SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS  

Amount from line B5 of income affidavit. 

 
$ 

 
K. SECONDARY WAGE EARNER DEDUCTION *   

A $20,000 deduction, or the exact amount of earnings if 
less, is allowed for each secondary wage earner.  Enter 
the total household deduction here. 

 
$ 

 
L. TOTAL DEDUCTIONS  

Add lines G, H, I, J, and K. 

 
 

 
$ 

 
M. NET HOUSEHOLD INCOME  

Line F minus line L. 

 
$ 
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NYS DHCR Frequently Asked Questions 

Re:  Income Affidavits 
 
 

 What are my responsibilities with respect to reporting my income? 

All tenants/shareholders in DHCR supervised Mitchell-Lama developments are required to 
report their income, and the income of all household members, annually and to comply with 
housing company requests for documentation. Tenants in federally-assisted developments are 
subject to HUD's annual income re-certification requirements. Tenants in non-federally-assisted 
developments are subject to DHCR's annual income review procedure. 

 

 I had medical and dental expenses last year, but I did not itemize my deductions.  Can I still 
claim the medical and dental expenses on line B4 of my income affidavit? 

No.  In order to claim Medical and Dental expenses on line B4 of your income affidavit, you 
must have itemized your deductions as reported on your NYS IT201D itemized deduction 
schedule items 1. 

 

 

 I had income but I was not required to file a Tax Return.  Do I need to report my income on 
my affidavit? 

 
Yes. If you or a household member were not required to file a NYS Tax return, the income must 
still be reported in the household composition portion of the income affidavit.  You must also 
check the box indicating “None” under Type of NYS Tax Return Filed. 

 

 

 Management indicated that a $50 Non-Refundable Administrative Fee will be imposed on 
ALL Tenant/Cooperators who have NOT submitted their Fully Completed Income Affidavit to 
management by April 30th.  Is this correct? 
 

Yes. When a tenant who is subject to DHCR's annual income review procedure fails to submit 
a completed income affidavit, or necessary documentation, by April 30th, Management may 
charge an administrative fee of $50.  For affidavits received after June 30th a 50% non-
refundable surcharge will be added to the rent. 

 

 After filing my income affidavit late, management agreed to remove the 50% surcharge going 
forward but could not remove the surcharge already billed. Is this correct? 

Yes. When a tenant who is subject to DHCR's annual income review procedure fails to submit 
a completed income affidavit, or necessary documentation, management is required to give the 
tenant one month's notice that a 50% surcharge will be added to the rent. Once the affidavit or 
documentation is submitted, management is required to recalculate the surcharge on the basis 
of the submission and the effective date of any resulting rent change should be the first of the 
following month. Management is not required to waive a surcharge that has already been 
assessed due to the failure of a tenant to submit the income affidavit on time. 

 

 

 Since the last Income Affidavit submission, the tenant/shareholder of record has 
permanently vacated.  Can I complete and submit the Income Affidavit? 

Yes; however, you must inform the managing agent that the resident of record has vacated.  
You must also request Succession Rights when you submit the Income Affidavit.  The managing 
agent will provide you with an application for Succession Rights with instruction on how to 
complete the application and required documents. 

 
 
 

 


