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Heat and Hot Water

Heat and Hot Water for Buildings in New York 
City

By law, building owners must provide all tenants 
with the following levels of heat and hot water:

Heat (During the heating season, October 1 
through May 31)

•	 Between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m., heat must 
register at least 68 degrees Fahrenheit 
when the outside temperature falls 
below 55 degrees;

•	 Between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m., heat must 
register at least 62 degrees Fahrenheit. 

Hot Water (24 hours a day, 365 days a year)

•	 Hot water must register at or above a 
constant temperature of 120 degrees at 
the tap.

•	 If a tub or shower is equipped with an 
anti-scald valve that prevents the hot 
water temperature from exceeding 
120 degrees, the minimum hot water 
temperature for that tub or shower is 110 
degrees.

The New York State Division of Housing and 
Community Renewal (DHCR) is authorized to 
reduce the rent of any rent regulated apartment 
in New York City when required heat and hot 
water services are not maintained. Tenants may 
file a “Failure To Provide Heat And/Or Hot Water 
- Tenant Application For Rent Reduction” (DHCR 
Form HHW-1). The complaint for an individual 

apartment may also be submitted online at  
www.hcr.ny.gov. If more than one tenant wishes 
to file a complaint, the tenants must attach a 
schedule to the HHW-1 form or file an “Application 
For A Rent Reduction Based Upon Decreased 
Building-Wide Service(s)” (DHCR Form RA-84). 
Applications based upon lack of adequate heat or 
hot water must be accompanied by a report from 
the appropriate city agency finding such lack of 
adequate heat or hot water. If the owner is found 
by DHCR to have failed to provide adequate heat 
or hot water, a rent reduction shall be ordered for 
rent stabilized apartments and may be ordered 
for rent controlled apartments and the owner will 
be prohibited from collecting any additional rent 
increases until the service is restored.

Rent controlled and rent stabilized tenants in New 
York City with heat and/or hot water complaints 
should call the NYC Citizen Service Center at 311.

A New York City Code Enforcement inspector 
will investigate your complaint and either issue a 
building violation or order emergency repairs to 
restore the services if they find the owner is not 
providing them. 

If a tenant receives a rent reduction from DHCR 
and also receives another abatement or a rent 
credit because of the same conditions, the tenant 
cannot get both benefits at the same time.

Heat and Hot Water for Buildings Located in 
Nassau, Rockland and Westchester Counties

For most of the housing subject to ETPA, an owner 
must provide heat and hot water as a required 
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To visit a Borough Rent Office, by appointment only, please contact:
QUEENS
92-31 Union Hall Street 
6th Floor 
Jamaica, NY 11433
718-482-4041

BROOKLYN
55 Hanson Place 
6th Floor
Brooklyn, NY 11217
718-722-4778

UPPER MANHATTAN 
163 W. 125th Street 
5th Floor
New York, NY 10027
212-961-8930

LOWER MANHATTAN
25 Beaver Street 
New York, NY 10004
212-480-6238

BRONX
1 Fordham Plaza  
4th Floor
Bronx, NY 10458
718-430-0880

WESTCHESTER
75 South Broadway
3rd Floor
White Plains, NY 10601
914-948-4434

  �Rent Connect:  
rent.hcr.ny.gov

  �Ask a question: 
portal.hcr.ny.gov/app/
ask

  �For translation help: 
hcr.ny.gov/language-
accessibility

  �Our website:  
hcr.ny.gov/rent

service. If an owner is not obligated to provide 
heat and/or hot water, or the heat and/or hot water 
is paid for by the tenant, tenants should make 
sure that their guidelines increase is appropriate. 
The local Guidelines Board may have issued a 
separate guideline for those properties.

Heat

Owners of rental housing in ETPA municipalities 
must supply heat from October 1 through May 31 to 
tenants in multiple dwellings.

While the heat and hot water requirements vary 
in these municipalities, they all require owners 
to supply heat from October 1 through May 
31 to tenants in multiple dwellings if outdoor 
temperatures fall below 55 degrees Fahrenheit.

Nassau County

In Nassau County, each apartment must be heated 
between 6:00 AM and 10:00 PM to a temperature 
of at least 68 degrees Fahrenheit, and between 
10:00 PM and 6:00 AM to a temperature of at least 
65 degrees Fahrenheit.

Rockland County

In Rockland County, each apartment must have an 
inside temperature of 68 degrees Fahrenheit at all 
times.

Westchester County

In Westchester County, each apartment must have 
an inside temperature of 68 degrees Fahrenheit at 
all times.

Hot Water

The hot water temperature requirement for Nassau 
and Rockland County is 120 degrees Fahrenheit.

In Westchester County, the individual 
municipalities determine the temperature 
requirement.

To report a complaint for lack of heat or hot water, 
contact the local municipal building department 
or the County Health Department. If conditions 
persist over a sustained period of time, a 
decreased service complaint may be filed with 
the local DHCR Rent Office on “Failure To Provide 
Heat And/Or Hot Water - Tenant Application 
For Rent Reduction” (DHCR Form HHW-1) for an 
individual apartment, or an “Application For A 
Rent Reduction Based Upon Decreased Building-
Wide Service(s)” (DHCR form RA-84) for a building 
wide complaint. Applications based upon lack of 
adequate heat or hot water must be accompanied 
by a report from the appropriate county or 
municipal agency finding such lack of adequate 
heat or hot water.

If the owner is found by DHCR to have failed 
to provide adequate heat or hot water, a rent 
reduction may be ordered for rent stabilized and 
rent controlled apartments.

If a tenant receives a rent reduction from DHCR 
and also receives another abatement or a rent 
credit because of the same conditions, the tenant 
cannot get both benefits at the same time.


