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Housing Stability & Tenant Protection

Act of 2019

is a comprehensive update of New York’s
rent regulation laws.

The following is an overview of some of the most significant changes and their

impact on rent regulated tenants:

Preferential Rent

@ If you are a rent stabilized tenant and your landlord
offered you a lower rent than the legal regulated rent,
you have a preferential rent.

@ Tenants paying a preferential rent on June 14, 2019,
whether their lease started before, on, or after this
date, cannot have their rents increased to the legal
regulated rent at their next lease renewal.

® Once a tenant vacates an apartment, the owner can
legally charge up to the legal regulated rent to the
next tenant, except under very limited circumstances.

Vacancy Increases

® Owners may no longer apply a 20% increase to an
apartment rent upon vacancy. Further, no Rent Guide-
lines Board is permitted to set a separate vacancy
increase. If authorized by the Board, a one- or two-
year lease guideline may be applied.

Major Capital Improvements

® Increases in rent due to Major Capital Improvements
(building-wide improvements such as boilers, windows
and roofs, known as MCls) must be removed from the
rent 30 years after the date the increase becomes
effective inclusive of any increases granted by the
Rent Guidelines Board and will no longer be a
permanent rent increase.

@ Increases in rent due to MCls are limited to no more
than 2% above the tenant’s rent in place at the time

the MCl was awarded. In New York City, this is a
decrease from a 6% rent increase cap. In Emergency
Tenant Protection Act counties, this is a decrease from
a 15% cap.

® The 2% cap applies to existing MCls for any renewal
lease beginning on or after June 14, 2019. Therefore, if
an MCI has been awarded in the last seven years, any
future increases based on those MCls will be subject
to the 2% annual cap.

® The monthly MCI costs passed on to tenants will also
now be lower because the formula for calculating
costs has changed. The amortization period for MCls
has been lengthened to 12 years for buildings with 35
or fewer units and to 12.5 years for buildings with more
than 35 units.

® The burden for determining what qualifies as an MCI
has significantly changed and the costs approved for
MCls will be based on a reasonable cost schedule that
will be created by HCR.

@ HCR will annually inspect and audit 25% of all
approved MCls.

Rent Control

® Rent increases for tenants in rent controlled
apartments will now be calculated by averaging
the last five years increases for rent stabilized
renewal leases, set by the Rent Guidelines Board.

® Rent controlled tenants will no longer pay or have
their rent increased by fuel pass along charges.
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Individual Apartment Improvements

@ Increases in rent due to Individual Apartment
Improvements (lIAls) must be removed from the rent
30 years after the date the increase becomes
effective inclusive of any increases granted by the
Rent Guidelines Board and will no longer be a
permanent rent increase.

@ Increases in rent due to |Als are limited the following
fomula: maximum of $15,000 in improvements over a
15-year period in no more than three separate IAls.

® Owners must clear hazardous violations in apartments
before applying an IAl rent increase.

@ |Als completed while an apartment is occupied must
be evidenced by informed written consent and
uploaded by the owner to a centralized database.

® The monthly Al costs passed on to tenants will also
now be lower because the formula for calculating
costs has changed. The amortization period for IAls
has been lengthened to 14 years for buildings with 35
or fewer units and 15 years with buildings with more
than 35 units.

Rent Overcharge

@ Tenants now have six years to claim a rent over-
charge. Previously, a tenant could only claim that they
had been overcharged within a four-year window and
claim damages for this four-year period.

® The period for which a tenant can receive damages,
including treble (triple) damages, as a result of a willful
overcharge, has been extended to six years.

@ Owners can no longer avoid treble damages simply
because they refund an overcharge after a complaint
has been filed.

Owner Occupancy Provisions

@ Owners choosing to reside in a building they own
may now only occupy one rent regulated unit
for themselves or their family members. Residents
who have been in place for 15 years or are elderly or
disabled have additional protections pursuant to
changes in the owner occupancy provisions.

Nonprofit Secured Housing

@ Certain nonprofit corporations leasing rent stablized
apartments pursuant to government contracts to
service vulnerable individuals or individuals with
disabilities or individuals who were homeless or at risk
of homelessness and their residents are given
occupancy protection under the rent stabilization law.

High-Rent/High-Income Decontrol

® Apartments can no longer be removed from rent
stabilization because their rents exceed a certain
amount or because the tenant’s income rises
above a certain amount.

® The high-rent vacancy decontrol provision,
ending rent regulation for an apartment when the
rent for that apartment crossed a set threshold and
the unit became vacant, has been repealed.

® The high-income vacancy decontrol provision, ending
rent regulation for an apartment when a tenant’s
income is $200,000 or higher in the preceding two
calendar years and rent for that apartment crossed a
set threshold, has been repealed.

® There is an exception for market rate units with a
421-a(16) tax abatement, which will continue to be
treated as they were under the prior version of the
law.

@ Units that were lawfully deregulated prior to Junel4,
2019 remain deregulated.
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