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THIRTY SIXTH (36th) ANNUAL UPDATE OF SECTION B OF SUPPLEMENT 

NO. 1 TO OPERATIONAL BULLETIN 84-4: 

B. Permissible Charges for the Use and/or Initial Installation of an Air Conditioner for

Both Rent Controlled and Rent Stabilized Housing Accommodations in New York

City.

This Annual Update reflects the amendments enacted by the Rent Regulation Reform Act of 

1993, and is issued pursuant to Section 2527.11 of the Rent Stabilization Code, and Section 2209.8 of 

the New York City Rent and Eviction Regulations. 

ELECTRICAL INCLUSION BUILDINGS 

An owner may charge a tenant $325.96* per annum per air conditioner ($27.16 per month) for 

the use of air conditioners in rent stabilized and rent controlled accommodations which were initially 

installed between October 1, 2021 and September 30, 2022 if electricity costs are included in the rent. 

For RENT STABILIZED APARTMENTS, this electrical inclusion charge shall take effect 

on October 1, 2021 and will thereafter be annually adjusted upward or downward depending upon 

whether the "Price Index of Operating Costs for Rent Stabilized Apartment Houses in New York City", 

prepared by the New York City Rent Guidelines Board (or such research company as the Rent 

Guidelines Board may choose), shows an increase or decrease in the cost of electricity for electrical 

inclusion buildings.  

For air conditioners in rent stabilized accommodations in electrical inclusion buildings 

previously installed between October 1, 1985 and September 30, 2021, the allowable charge per 

annum is hereby increased to $325.96 per air conditioner ($27.16 per month), effective October 1, 

2021. 

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

* The 2020 charge (estimated average operating cost) per air conditioner of $303.97 per annum 

($25.31 per month) increased to reflect a 7.34% increase in the price of electricity for electrical 

inclusion buildings. See Rent Guidelines Board 2021 Price Index of Operating Costs, Report to the 

Board, New York City Rent Guidelines Board, Page 17, April 22, 2021.
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BUILDING OWNER PROVIDED NEW AIR CONDITIONER 

Where a brand new air conditioner is purchased and installed by the owner in a rent 

controlled or rent stabilized apartment, one-one hundred and sixty eighth (1/168th) of the cost of 

the new air conditioner in buildings that contain 35 or fewer housing accommodations or one-one 

hundred and eightieth (1/180th) of the cost in buildings that contain more than 35 housing 

accommodations, including any cost of installation, but excluding finance charges, if any, may be 

included in the base rent.  However, the recoverable costs incurred by the owner are subject to the 

limits imposed by the Housing Stability and Tenant Protection Act (HSTPA) of 2019 on rent 

increases for Individual Apartment Improvements (IAI). In the case of a rent controlled apartment, 

the owner must notify DHCR of the rent increase and the increase shall be effective as of the first rent 

payment date following such notification.  While an owner may collect from a rent stabilized tenant any 

of the charges for an air conditioner without obtaining a DHCR order, HSTPA requires that the owner 

file the Supplemental Rent Registration IAI Notification form with DHCR whether the apartment is 

occupied or vacant. Where the subject apartment is occupied, the owner must also obtain and file 

the tenant’s written informed consent on the Supplemental Rent Registration IAI Informed 

Consent form. In the case of a rent stabilized apartment, the information should also be included in the 

next annual rent registration statement, and the increase is effective on the first rent payment date 

following installation. 

For additional details on individual apartment improvement requirements under 

HSTPA, please review Operational Bulletin 2016-1. 

ELECTRICAL EXCLUSION BUILDINGS 

Where the rent controlled or rent stabilized tenant pays for his or her own electricity and 

purchases and installs his or her own air conditioner between October 1, 2021 and September 30, 

2022, a $5.00 per month per air conditioner charge will be payable to the owner only if the air 

conditioner protrudes beyond the window line. 

TERMS AND CONDITIONS 

For RENT STABILIZED APARTMENTS, these charges, with the exception of the one-

one hundred and sixty eighth (1/168th) charge in buildings that contain 35 or fewer housing 

accommodations or one-one hundred and eightieth (1/180th) of the cost in buildings that contain more 

than 35 housing accommodations for the owner-purchased and installed brand new air conditioner, do 

not become part of the base rent for the purpose of computing any guidelines or other increases 

under the Rent Stabilization Law or Code.  For air conditioners initially installed prior to 

October 1, 1985, the permissible charge is dependent upon the lawful practice then in effect. 

Owners can collect the charges from rent stabilized tenants without an order from 

DHCR.  However, an owner cannot collect the charges now for an air conditioner if the owner did 

not begin charging for the air conditioner at the time it was installed or within a reasonable 

period of time thereafter.  A reasonable period is generally considered to be that amount of time in 

which an owner would be expected to learn that the air conditioner was installed. 

These monthly charges remain collectible throughout the year even if the air conditioner is 

removed, i.e., during the winter months. 
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For RENT CONTROLLED APARTMENTS, with the exception of the one-one hundred 

and sixty eighth (1/168th) charge in buildings that contain 35 or fewer housing accommodations or one-

one hundred and eightieth (1/180th) of the cost in buildings that contain more than 35 housing 

accommodations for the owner-purchased and installed brand new air conditioner, the owner must apply 

to DHCR before collecting any of these charges.  An owner may apply to DHCR by submitting the 

"Owner's Application for a Rent Increase Based on Increased Services, New Furnishing/Equipment/ 

Painting; and Tenant's Statement of Consent, Owner's Application for Air Conditioner Charges or For 

an Increase in Maximum Rent for Painting" (DHCR Form RN-79b).  The increase or decrease is not 

collectible until an order to increase or decrease the rent is issued by DHCR. Where prior to October 1, 

2021, collection of an air conditioner charge was ordered and approved in a specified dollar amount, 

that charge remains in effect for the current year. 

The electrical inclusion charge and the $5.00 per month charge for a tenant purchased and 

installed air conditioner in an electrical exclusion rent controlled apartment become part of the maximum 

collectible rent, but they do not affect the compounding of the maximum base rent.   

 For both RENT STABILIZED and RENT CONTROLLED APARTMENTS, for air 

conditioners initially installed prior to October 1, 1985, the permissible charge is dependent upon the 

lawful practice then in effect. 

Woody Pascal 

Deputy Commissioner  

for Rent Administration 

Dated: September 23, 2021 




